At the center of the PYP curriculum are five essential elements: knowledge, concepts, skills, attitudes, and action.

The programme helps students acquire a holistic understanding of six main organizing themes through the interrelatedness of these essential elements.


The PYP identifies a body of knowledge for all students in all cultures in six subject areas: What do we want the children to know? In answering this question, the program of inquiry (POI) is organized around six transdisciplinary themes:

  • Who we are
  • Where we are in place and time
  • How the world works
  • How we organize ourselves
  • Sharing the planet
  • How we express ourselves

 The following subject areas provide the framework for the content of the program:

  • Languages
  • Social studies
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Arts
  • Personal, Social and Physical education


Approaches to Learning Skills (ATL)

Learning how to learn is key to a student’s academic growth, and this is done through the purposeful development of five categories of interrelated skills. In addition to the ATLs are the sub-skills related to each subject area. These skills help students to construct meaning and understanding, and become self-regulated learners who know how to ask good questions, set goals, and become agents of their learning. The ATL skills include:

  • Social skills
  • Thinking skills
  • Research skills
  • Communication skills
  • Self-management skills


Learner Profile

Attitudes count! As part of the PYP we focus on the development of positive attitudes towards people, the environment and learning. These attitudes are embodied in the IB learner profile to develop active, compassionate and lifelong learners who respect and care for all. We want students to become:

  • Knowledgeable
  • Thinkers
  • Communicators
  • Principled
  • Open-minded
  • Caring
  • Risk-takers
  • Balanced
  • Reflective