Language Arts

Language Arts

Language skills are essential for communication and self-expression, and the skills of reading, writing, listening, speaking and viewing are learned across and throughout the subject areas. They are recognized as interdependent parts of a whole and are developed in an integrated manner, both with each other and the rest of the curriculum. Lucy Calkins is a balanced literacy program that is used at all grade levels.

Students in all grades are exposed to Spanish which enables them to communicate and interact through language. The functional use of grammar is our short-term goal, which is achieved through a hands-on approach. Accelerative Integrated Methodology (AIM) uses gestures, drama, and music to develop fluency. 

The Four Strands of Language:

  • Speaking and Listening
  • Reading 
  • Writing 
  • Language

Language Arts Standards